Spiced Caramel Nut Granola

This is the first post in a series of what I call “Pin There, Done, That.” Most of us have heard of the very popular site/app Pinterest, and I would go so far as to say that most of us love it. In this series, I will be documenting my experiences with trying things that I find “pinned” on Pinterest. There will be a variety of different post but I thought a recipe was a good place to start. So let’s jump in…

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 6.34.43 PM

I found this pin and decided to use this infographic as a base to create my own homemade granola. First, this pin is super easy to locate. Type in “granola” in the search bar and BOOM it is literally the first pin to pop up. For this recipe I worked with what I had and what I like. The infographic seemed suggestive in some areas so I just went with the flow. Please note that for this recipe I only referred to the infographic and did not actually click the link to the website, RecipeTin Eats until I had cleaned my kitchen and my granola was already in the oven.

IMG_2828.jpg

IMG_2831

Ingredients (not all used were pictured): vanilla extract, raw almonds, sesame seeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, pure maple syrup, pure buckwheat honey

I started by coarsely chopping whole raw almonds. I bought them fresh and wanted larger chunks instead of slivers. I then prepared the oats, adding the chopped almonds. After all, the top of the infographic says “Combine Dry.”

Next step, coconut… Alright so I don’t care for coconut very much. I have warmed up to it over time, but it isn’t my favorite. So needless to say I was happy this gave me some options. For the second nut I added two handfuls of medium cashews (unsalted and coarsely chopped, by me). Then I remembered that we had some coconut so I added in only a 1/4 cup, not enough to overpower the granola.

IMG_2837.jpg

Okay, now for the spice! The recipe calls for 1 Tbsp. I mixed all my spices without measuring the smaller amounts but all equaling that 1 Tbsp. I included the following spices in order from most to least used: cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, and ground cardamom. A pinch of salt. I decided that I did not want dried fruit in this batch of granola. After tasting the finish product I think that raisins would have went well with the combination I chose.

I moved on to mixing my wet ingredients. I used coconut oil, maple syrup, 1 Tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 Tsp of pure pumpkin spice extract. Combining all the wet ingredients in a mug and them pouring over the dry mixture and mixing well to insure even coating.

IMG_2841.jpgIMG_2842.jpg

After the mixture was evenly coated I spread it on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. My layers were thin so I used two separate baking sheets.

IMG_2845

I then drizzled the buckwheat honey on top of both batches and sprinkled toasted sesame seed on top. I then baked the granola mixture according to the infographic instructions pictured below.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 7.53.47 PM.png

I wasn’t positive on the exact time since it only approximates 30 minutes so I started with 20 minutes. The granola wasn’t quite golden at the end of the 20 minutes. Five minutes later the edges had begun to burn a bit. Beware, if the edges are thinner then they will baked faster. Nothing was ruined though, I was able to take it out fast enough and they were only a couple areas that were over cook (most of which I still ate during the tasting). FYI- this made my house smell absolutely amazing even for up to an hour or so after it was done and everything was put away, omg.

IMG_2859.jpg

I let the granola cool for about 30 minutes before handling because I wanted to let it settle a little so I could have some chunky pieces and not just the small flaky part. This can be stored many ways; I used glass jars and I had more leftover, which my mom mixed in her trail mix (stored in a tin can for freshness).IMG_2873.jpg

There are lots of ways to enjoy granola: in a trail mix, on a parfait or smoothie bowl, or even with milk and fresh fruit. I hope this post helps give you some ideas on how get creative with breakfast. Special thanks to Nagi at RecipeTin Eats for the helpful post lead me to try to make granola. I know I will be using this method again in the near future.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Enjoy 😋

Leave a Reply

